Uncategorized

Have You Heard?!

Screen Shot 2018-02-27 at 2.05.29 PM.png

CALLING ALL MY FOLLOWERS WHO CONSIDER THEMSELVES BOOK LOVERS! 

I am writing to explain to you an amazing secretive society that I have just recently become a member of… The Underground Library Society! The Underground Library Society’s main goal is to incentivize people to read more books by putting up posters made by hand shouting out a book they want to “save”. The ULS is an in class project my fellow students and I are working on together.

Our class is creating these posters that have the ULS name, a logo, the book we are “saving”, and a small quote or excerpt from the novel. I chose to do mine on Q & A by Vikas Swarup. I chose this novel due to its intriguing title and concept of a 10 question game show, but also because I believe the underlying message and descriptions of the poverty stricken areas of India are extremely important to understand. I believe this is a novel that needs to be read and can bring knowledge and pleasure unto its readers.

The ULS is based on a book Fahrenheit 451 we have read as a class. The novel Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury takes place in the Cold War and documents a fictional period where books are banned, leading a group of men to come together and memorize books to save written literature. The resilience and patience these men have to keep the books in their minds in order to one day release the knowledge upon the community amazes me. We as a class will move on to the second part of our project, memorizing a paragraph of our novel, once we have put up these posters on our novel. We, as a class, will simulate what Ray Bradbury imagined would happen in the future after the final pages of his book. The reveal and recitation of our novels.

8 thoughts on “Have You Heard?!”

  1. Great post! Was very well written and while I haven’t read Q and A it sounds like a very interesting book. Good luck and I hope to hear more about it.

    Like

Leave a comment